New York State Liability Insurance Requirements

Any motor vehicle registered in New York must have liability insurance; the NY required minimum limits are $25,000/50,000 for injury and $50,000/100,000 for death, and $10,000 for property damage caused in an accident. The state of New York is considered a "no-fault" state; therefore, all New York drivers must maintain their liability coverage while their registration is valid, even if they are not using their motor vehicle (except motorcycles).

  • Liability coverage must be New York State insurance coverage, and it must be issued by a company that is authorized to do business in New York, and the company must by licensed by the NYS Department of Financial Services.
  • In NY, out-of-state insurance coverage is not accepted or valid. Once your vehicle is registered in NYS, your liability insurance must be NYS insurance coverage.
  • When you register your vehicle in New York, you must show a NYS Insurance I.D. card.
  • The DMV does not accept any type of out-of-state insurance papers.

If you cancel your liability insurance, the insurance company is required to notify the DMV. Your insurance company is also required to notify the DMV if your insurance is reinstated or if you get new insurance. If your vehicle does not have liability insurance, you are required to surrender your vehicle plates to the NYSDMV immediately. If your insurance lapses, then your vehicle's registration will be suspended. Furthermore, if the lapse of insurance coverage is longer than 90 days, then your driver's license will be suspended as well.

If you have been ticketed for operating without insurance, or if you need help with your suspended license please contact a traffic ticket attorney from Gannes & Musico, LLP for immediate assistance.

Related Posts
  • Failure to Yield Right of Way Tickets in NYC Read More
  • NY Seat Belt Law Expansion: Everything You Need to Know Read More
  • NY DMV: Profiting from Injustice? Read More